Skip to main content

Live discussion: How will the world respond to Israel's annexation plans?

Join us for a live discussion on the international reaction to racism, brutality and annexation in Israel-Palestine
As Israel gears up to annex parts of the occupied West Bank, Palestinians have been drawing comparisons between police violence in Israel and the US (Illustration by Mohamad Elaasar)

Welcome to Talking Point, Middle East Eye's live discussion, where we delve into issues with the help of our panel of guests. 

Join us this week to discuss racism, brutality and annexation in Israel-Palestine, and how the world will react to recent developments.

Israel's plans to annex parts of the occupied West Bank, including the Jordan Valley, could commence as early as 1 July. The unilateral move forms part of Donald Trump's Middle East plan, which has been widely condemned by Palestinians, the United Nations, and critics across the world.

What are the implications of annexation, and how will the international community respond if it goes ahead?

In addition, the recent killings of Eyad al-Halak in occupied East Jerusalem and George Floyd in Minneapolis, two unarmed men killed at the hands of police, have brought worldwide attention to racism and police brutality in both Israel and the United States.

Will recent global protests impact the relationship between Washington and Israel? How will international solidarity against injustice, from Minneapolis to Kashmir and Xinjiang, influence the Palestinian cause?

Join us on Wednesday 10 June at 6pm BST / 1pm ET / 10am PT to discuss these questions and more with our panel of guests:

- Human rights attorney Noura Erakat

- Professor in Middle Eastern politics Ian Lustick

- Historian and academic Rashid Khalidi

- Journalist Richard Silverstein

The event will be hosted by Middle East Eye's editor in chief David Hearst, and streamed live across MEE's Facebook, Twitter and YouTube pages.