Skip to main content

Balfour Declaration

The Balfour Declaration was signed on 2 November 1917. The letter, by British Foreign Secretary Arthur Balfour, was a pledge for a Jewish homeland in Palestine.

The declaration is seen as a catalyst for the 1948 Nakba (catastrophe) where more than 750,000 Palestinians were expelled from their homes
Middle East Eye delivers independent and unrivalled coverage and analysis of the Middle East, North Africa and beyond. To learn more about republishing this content and the associated fees, please fill out this form. More about MEE can be found here.